Portslade Brewery in Brighton is a Victorian Built Brewery standing 3 to 5 stories tall in the heart of Portslade Village.
Portslade is part of Brighton which is located on the South Coast circa 60 miles from London. Brighton is a vibrant and very cosmopolitan town with a good University and many attractions.
The Project benefits from full Planning permission of 37 conversion flats and 11 houses totaling 48 Units and Commercial space.
Portslade old village is located to the east of Brighton and Hove, approximately half a mile north of he main A270 east-west thoroughfare and a mile south of the A27 Brighton bypass which in turn links to the A23.
The area is served by regular bus services and has a range of small shops and pubs in the immediate locality. Portslade railway station is under a mile to the south .Portslade is bounded by the South Downs National Park to the North and Hove Seafront/Shoreham Harbour to the south .There
are several schools within the immediate catchment area.
The site occupies a corner site in the centre of the Portslade Old Village Conservation Area.
It lies between the High Street to the south side and Drove Road to the north and is a mainly square ite with several changes in level.
The main yellow brick brewery building is locally listed and is being retained along with the iconic chimney as part of the proposed development.
In c.1850 John Dudney established a brewery on the site. Following the repeal of the Malt Tax in 1880, the brewery was expanded with the construction of the 5 storey yellow brick building and chimney and was, at one time, connected via a bridge to the buildings opposite in South Street.
At the time, the brewery was one of the largest in the south and was celebrated for its Southdown Ales and India Pale Ale. The chimney incorporates a shield with the initials D&S (Dudney & Sons).
Brewing ceased on site in 1930. The property was acquired by Shepherds Industries (Shirt Makers) before it was used as the head quarters for the 5th Territorial Army Battalion in 1940. In 1947, Le Carbone took over the brewery buildings and went on to become a worldwide group represented in 29 countries before changing name to Mersen. The company closed operations in 2015 and sold the buildings to the current owners. The original brewery buildings have been added to with a series of
buildings and structures, most of which will be demolished as part of the redevelopment.